RTC Forums
May 19, 2024, 04:58:01 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Home   Help Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Example of TRtcFunction returning TRtcRecord  (Read 5210 times)
joepasquariello
RTC License+

« on: February 12, 2013, 06:56:20 AM »

I'm a new user of RTC SDK, and I find there are no examples of TRtcFunction OnExecute handlers that store anything but a simple type (Integer, DateTime, etc) in the Result. Can anyone provide an example of returning a Record, even a simple one two fields?

I'm actually a C++ Builder user, but a Delphi example would be helpful. This is what I'm doing in C++, but I don't understand whether I need to allocate memory for the record structure, as shown below.

Joe

void __fastcall TRtcServerForm::GetRecordExecute(TRtcConnection *Sender, TRtcFunctionInfo *Param,
          TRtcValue *Result)
{
  TRtcRecord *RtcRecord = new TRtcRecord;
  RtcRecord->asBoolean["field1"] = true;
  RtcRecord->asInteger["field2"] = 1000;
  RtcRecord->asFloat  ["field3"] = 1.1;
  Result->asRecord = RtcRecord;
  delete RtcRecord;
}
joepasquariello
RTC License+

« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2013, 07:32:53 AM »

After a little more thought, I've found this works, which makes more sense. Is this the correct approach? It's much simpler, and I assume that RTC will deallocate the TRtcRecord after it's done sending?

Joe

void __fastcall TRtcServerForm::GetRecordExecute(TRtcConnection *Sender, TRtcFunctionInfo *Param,
          TRtcValue *Result)
{
  TRtcRecord *RtcRecord = Result->NewRecord();
  RtcRecord->asInteger["field2"] = 1000;
  RtcRecord->asFloat  ["field3"] = 1.1;
}
cesarliws
« Reply #2 on: February 12, 2013, 04:41:31 PM »

Hi  joepasquariello,

You are right, RTC manages the life cicle of the child objects.
All child objects are destroyed with the parent object and Result is being passed in as a parameter, so it will be destroyed by the sender.