RTC Forums
May 24, 2024, 07:55:08 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Home   Help Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: First tests with RTC  (Read 4321 times)
MirkoC
RTC Expired

« on: November 15, 2016, 10:02:31 PM »

Hi,

I'm pretty new with RTC components and like every newbie I first tried to reproduce the samples projects from the classroom on website.
After first success with basic connection project beween server and client I'm hanging now on the DB access sample, but not using SQLite but MySQL.

While the launch of the server wasn't a problem, the creation of the client is confusing me a little bit. I tried to follow the logic of the components and after starting the server (listening active), the launched client gives me an exception on clicking on the connect and fetch button, giving back "PostRequest: Client connection undefined" raised by rtcClientModule.Call(rtcResult);

Here the full procedure:
procedure TFormMain.ButtonClick(Sender: TObject);
begin
  // Set Client Connection Properties
  rtcClient.ServerAddr := ServerAddress.Text;
  rtcClient.ServerPort := ServerPort.Text;
  // Disconnect the Datasource from the Dataset
  DataSource.DataSet := nil;
  rtcClientModule.Prepare('GetLanguageData');
  rtcClientModule.Call(rtcResult);
end;

where GetLaungageData is the function defined in the server.

What is blocking my client to connect to the server?

Thanks for helping me understand the logic of the single components...

M.
D.Tkalcec (RTC)
Administrator

« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2016, 09:30:50 AM »

The error message says that you did NOT assign a Client connection (TRtcHttpClient component) to the "Client" property of your TRtcClientModule component.

In code, this would be ...

rtcClientModule.Client := rtcClient;

Also, make sure to set the AutoConnect property to TRUE on the TRtcHttpClient component, if you do NOT plan on manually calling Connect and Disconnect.